In English

The goal is 

  • to collect information on the ways a sense of community is being promoted, on central actors and how activities are organised.
  • to find out the linkages of different models and residents’ experienced well-being and participation in community, and how residents’ need of help and support are being met in different models.
  • to organise existing and provide new knowledge through literature reviews and case studies.

New information is collected from actors of public sector, private sector, third sector and residents themselves through questionnaires, group discussions and interviews. Within the project we will create a description of case studies and an information package of innovative models which can be used in political decision making, housing and care policies and in designing housing and living areas.  A summary of project results made publicly available enables distributing information on different housing and living options to organisations and ordinary citizens.  

Key concepts:  housing, living area, living environment, a sense of community, well-being, community participation, age-friendly, ageing, housing services, residential care, dementia, community care, communal living

New alternatives for living and housing

 

ASUVA research project participants

The project is led by Tampere School of Public Health, University of Tampere in collaboration with consortium partners GeroCenter , Age Institute and The Department of Social Sciences and Philosophy, University of Jyväskylä. The research group represents multidisciplinary expertise and experience in scientific research and collaboration between organisations, officials and citizens. 

Research group

Outi Jolanki, Principal investigator, FT, Docent (Social Gerontology), Tampere School of Public Health, University of Tampere, outi.jolanki(at)uta.fi

Tiina Räsänen, Master of Health Sciences, Doctoral student, Tampere School of Public Health, University of Tampere, Rasanen.Tiina.A(at)student.uta.fi

Outi Teittinen, M.Sc. (B.A.), Project coordinator, Foundation for Aging Research and Development, City of Jyväskylä, outi.teittinen(at)gerocenter.fi

Riku Nikander, Manager, Foundation for Aging Research and Development, City of Jyväskylä, riku.nikander(at)gerocenter.fi

Päivi Topo, Director, The Age Institute, Helsinki, paivi.topo(at)ikainstituutti.fi

Erja Rappe, Senior researcher, The Age Institute, Helsinki, erja.rappe(at)ikainstituutti.fi

Jere Rajaniemi, Researcher, The Age Institute, Helsinki, jere.rajaniemi(at)ikainstituutti.fi

Emilia Leinonen, Doctoral student, Department of Social Sciences and Philosophy, University of Jyväskylä, emilia.a.leinonen(at)jyu.fi

Teppo Kröger, Professor, Department of Social Sciences and Philosophy, University of Jyväskylä, teppo.kroger(at)jyu.fi

Anne Honkanen, Communications Coordinator, The Age Institute, Helsinki, anne.honkanen(at)ikainstituutti.fi

The project receives funding from Prime Minister’s Office. Duration of the project is 6/2016 – 2/2017. Steering group members come from Ministry of the Environment, Ministry of Finances, Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment, The Housing Finance and Development Centre of Finland (ARA), and National Institute for Health and Welfare (THL).

 

Contact

Outi Jolanki, University of Tampere, outi.jolanki(at)uta.fi, +358 40 190 1660
Outi Teittinen, GeroCenter, outi.teittinen(at)gerocenter.fi, +358 400 389 682